Initial Commit (Who doesn't enjoy a pun)

Initial Commit (Who doesn't enjoy a pun)

Hello Stranger,

I am a developer looking to keep myself active and accountable. Hopefully, posting to a blog where I can document my failures and how I (hopefully) overcame them, along with my successes and learnings, will do that.

With that fanfare out of the way, I am doing the #100DaysOfPython challenge. Like any 100 day challenge, I will be coding a bit of Python every day along with whatever else I'm doing.

Why you (didn't) ask?

When I began coding, it was with HTML and CSS, I picked up a great book by Jon Duckett called "HTML and CSS: Design and Build Websites". Outside of the odd "Hello World" Tutorial, this book was my first real introduction to coding.

Following this and delving deeper into the coding realm, I wanted to learn a programming language (Let's not get into the technicalities of HTML and CSS), I wasn't quite sure where to begin. As it turns out, there are a lot of them. I now know that Javascript would have been a nice natural progression, but at the time I did a google search for popular programming languages and Python sounded like something I wanted to learn, based mostly on its name and also it being beginner-friendly due to its readability. I picked up another book, this time by Eric Matthes called "Python Crash Course: A Hands-On, Project-Based Introduction to Programming".

Wrap this rant up, do your "Why did you begin to code" story in another post!

Since learning Python, I have spent my time learning Ruby, Javascript, Java, and some of their frameworks, along with other technologies (Jack of all trades, master of absolutely nothing yet). With Covid-19 making its guest appearance this year and clearly overstaying its welcome, I have time to do challenges like the #100DaysOfPython to shake some of the Rust (I'm forcing this language pun) off and keep my coding side active, be it 20 minutes a day, or 2 hours a day, these small increments will keep building my skills onwards.

This wall of text, upon re-reading, is all over the place. My first improvements in future posts will be having a focus and keeping the posts shorter (unless I don't).

Books mentioned

  • "HTML and CSS: Design and Build Websites" by Jon Duckett

  • "Python Crash Course: A Hands-On, Project-Based Introduction to Programming" by Eric Matthes